Permission Settings 


Pre-requisite for migrating permissions

ü  Full Control - The user accounts used to connect to source and destination SharePoint must have Full Control permission on the sites to migrate permissions and its relevant settings.

ü  XPlica Server Agent for SharePoint 2007 - In order to migrate permissions from SharePoint 2007 to another environment, you must install XPlica Server Agent in the source SharePoint server. If you are migrating permissions to SharePoint 2007 as your target server, you must install XPlica Server Agent for SharePoint 2007 in your target server as well.

ü  Availability of users in AD- The associated users for lists / list items must be available in destination SharePoint server (same or different AD domain).

1.

The Permission Settings step will appear as shown in the screen below:

2.

 Configure the permission settings as follows:

a)    Do not migrate permissions - This option will not migrate permissions such as permission levels, users/groups and associated permissions of lists/libraries, items and documents to the target server.

b)    Migrate Permissions - This option enables you to migrate permissions such as creating unavailable permission levels, users/groups and associated permissions with items, documents, lists / libraries as defined in the source server. You have the option to migrate permission levels along with its associated rights and migrate users & groups along with their respective role assignments as defined in the source server using the following two checkboxes:

                      i.        Update users & groups and associated role assignments as in source. If the user / group with the same name already exist in the destination - This option will create unavailable users and groups in destination server. If the user or group with the same name already exists in the destination while creating the unavailable users and groups, you can choose any one of the following options:

Skip - This option will create the unavailable users & groups only.  It does not update the existing users & groups, associated role assignments and memberships.

Merge - This option will create the unavailable users & groups and also updates the existing users & groups, associated role assignments and memberships.

Replace - This option will create the unavailable users & groups and replaces the existing users & groups after deleting them in the destination server and also associate the respective role assignments and memberships as defined in the source server. You must exercise caution when selecting the Replace option, as permissions associated with other existing items / documents in the list / library may be broken due to the delete operation. Merge option is recommended in such cases.

Note: Even if none of the above options is selected, XPlica automatically migrates users/groups by adding them in the destination site collection, provided the users/groups are available in destination Active Directory. The associated permissions will be migrated based on the permission level setting given below.

                      ii.        Update permission levels as in source. If a permission level with the same name already exists in the destination - This option will create unavailable permission levels in destination. If a permission level with the same name already exists in the destination while creating the unavailable permission levels, you can choose any one of the following options:

Skip - This option will create the unavailable permission levels only.  It will not update the existing permission levels.

Merge - This option will create the unavailable permission levels and will also update the existing permission levels.

Replace - This option will create the unavailable permission levels and will replace the existing permission levels after deleting them in the destination server. You must exercise caution when selecting the Replace option, as permission levels associated with other existing items / documents in the list / library may be broken due to the delete / clean-up operation. Merge option is recommended in such cases.

 3.    Click Next to proceed.