How to revoke all existing permissions for accounts and replace them with new permissions?

The Revoke Permissions feature provides many options to remove accounts and their permissions from the existing list of ACE entries in shared folders and files. You may revoke all existing explicit accounts and also you may selectively revoke a set of permissions granted to accounts.


Click on button.

The Revoke Permissions window will be displayed as shown below:
Step 1: Select a Revoke permissions option
Select any one of the following options:
  • Revoke all existing accounts and their permissions from the selected shared folder(s)/file(s) : This option will remove all explicitly assigned accounts with all their permissions from the selected shared folder(s)/file(s) permissions list.

    Note: This will not affect the accounts which are inherited from the parent of the current object. If you still wish to break the inheritance from the parent object, you may use the Grant Permissions or Modify Permissions tool to block inheritance.

  • Revoke a selected set of accounts and their permissions from the selected shared folder(s)/file(s): This option will revoke the selected accounts and their permissions from the shared folder(s)/file(s) permissions list. In this option, you can selectively revoke a set of permissions granted to accounts.

  • Revoke all existing permissions for accounts and replace them with new permissions: This option will replace existing permissions for the selected accounts with a set of new permissions. The accounts will not be removed but the current permissions for the accounts will be removed and replaced with new permissions.



Click Next to proceed to the Next step.


Step 2: Configure shared folder-list:
   
            To configure shared folders, click Click here to add shared folders link.

Click Next to proceed to the Next step.
 

Step 3: Select entries from the corresponding shared folder(s) or file(s).
Click Next to proceed to the next step.

Step 4: Select Access Control type and permissions:
Permissions: This option will accept the new permissions to be used to replace permissions for selected entries from the selected shared folder(s)/file(s).
Example : If the Account has the permissions Allow Modify, Allow Delete and if Allow Read and Execute permission has been selected to replace as new permissions, then this option will remove both Allow Modify, Allow Delete permissions and assign Allow Read and Execute permission.

Select ACE type and permissions to assign new permissions for the selected accounts in the selected shared folder(s) /files(s).

 

Click Next to proceed to the next step.


Step 5: Revoke permissions now or Schedule it to run later

      You may use either Run now or Run later option.

Select Run now option to run the task immediately after finishing the wizard steps.




In Run now option, you can optionally save the wizard settings by clicking on Save As Template... as shown below:



Click OK to save the input settings as a template.

Click Next to proceed to the next step.



Step 6: Selection Summary
This step displays the summary of data selected to Revoke permissions and you can also view and export the existing permissions before changes are applied, by clicking on the Export current permissions button.


Click Finish to complete the Revoke Permissions wizard. Permissions will be revoked as specified in the wizard. The summary of all the input data would be shown below along with the "View change log" option to view the task completion status.