How to revoke permissions from the selected shares permissions list?

The Revoke Permissions feature provides many options to remove accounts and their permissions from the existing list of ACE entries in shared folders and files. You may revoke all existing explicit accounts and also you may selectively revoke a set of permissions granted to accounts.


Click on button.

The Revoke Permissions window will be displayed as shown below:
Step 1: Select a Revoke permissions option
Select any one of the following options:
  • Revoke all existing accounts and their permissions from the selected shared folder(s)/file(s) : This option will remove all explicitly assigned accounts with all their permissions from the selected shared folder(s)/file(s) permissions list.

    Note: This will not affect the accounts which are inherited from the parent of the current object. If you still wish to break the inheritance from the parent object, you may use the Grant Permissions or Modify Permissions tool to block inheritance.

  • Revoke a selected set of accounts and their permissions from the selected shared folder(s)/file(s): This option will revoke the selected accounts and their permissions from the shared folder(s)/file(s) permissions list. In this option, you can selectively revoke a set of permissions granted to accounts.
  • Revoke all existing permissions for accounts and replace them with new permissions: This option will replace existing permissions for the selected accounts with a set of new permissions. The accounts will not be removed but the current permissions for the accounts will be removed and replaced with new permissions.



Click Next to proceed to the Next step.


Step 2: Configure shared folder-list:
   
            To configure shared folders, click Click here to add shared folders link.

  • Apply to sub-folders: This option will revoke permissions from sub-folders of the selected folders.
  • Include files present inside folders: This option will revoke permissions from all files present in the added folders and their sub-folders.
  • Use Set Search Pattern option to revoke permissions from sub-folders that match certain pre-defined conditions like Folder name starts with, Folder name ends with. Example: Folder name starts with test, Folder name ends with share.
  • Use Set Folder Levels option to revoke permissions in the selected levels of sub-folder(s) in the shared folder.
  • Apply upto N level(s) of sub-folder(s) in the shared folder : This option will revoke permissions from sub-folders which are upto the specified folder traversal level.
  • Apply only Nth level of sub-folder(s) in the shared folder : This option will revoke permissions from sub-folders which are in the specified folder level only.
  • Apply folders after N level(s) of sub-folder(s) in the shared folder : This option will revoke permissions from sub-folders which are after the nth folder level of the selected folder.
  • Apply only leaf nodes in the shared folder : This option will revoke permissions from the last child (leaf) nodes without affecting the parent folder’s permissions.

Click Next to proceed to the Next step.
 

Step 3: Configure User/Group Account(s)
You may select one of the account selection options below :
  • All existing accounts that have been assigned explicit permission: This option will remove all the explicitly assigned accounts. It will not affect the accounts which are inherited from the parent of the current object.
  • Selected accounts: This option will remove all or specific permissions for the selected accounts.To configure user / group accounts, click Click here to add user or group accounts link.
Click Next to proceed to the next step.

Step 4: Select Access Control type and permissions:



You may select one of the options below :
  • All existing permissions: This option will remove all existing permissions with accounts from the selected shared folder(s)/file(s) permissions list.
    Example: If the Account has many permissions like Allow type Read,Write,Take ownership and Deny type Modify, selecting this option will remove all the Allow and Deny permissions.
  • Selected permissions: This option will remove only the selected permissions from the selected shared folder(s)/file(s) permissions list.
    Example : If the Account has the permissions Allow Read and Write and if Allow Read permission has been selected to revoke permissions, then this option will remove only Allow Read permissions from the permissions list and the remaining Write permissions will exist in the permissions list.
  • Revoke only if there is an exact match:
  • This option will remove the accounts permissions only when the selected permissions match exactly with an accounts existing permissions.
    Example: If a share has some accounts with permission as Allow Read and some accounts with permission as Allow ReadandExecute, selecting the Allow Read permissions to revoke will remove only the accounts that exactly has Allow Read permission.

Select ACE type and permissions to revoke the selected accounts on the selected shared folder(s) /files(s)

 

Click Next to proceed to the next step.


Step 5: Revoke permissions now or Schedule it to run later

      You may use either Run now or Run later option.

  • In Run now option, you can optionally save the input settings as a template. Click on Save As Template... and enter a name and description to save the wizard settings as a template for reuse.
  • In case of Run later option, enter a unique task name and specify its schedule settings.

Select Run now option to run the task immediately after finishing the wizard steps.



In Run now option, you can optionally save the wizard settings by clicking on Save As Template... as shown below:



Click OK to save the input settings as a template.



Click Next to proceed to the next step.


Step 6: Selection Summary
This step displays the summary of data selected to Revoke permissions and you can also view and export the existing permissions before changes are applied, by clicking on the Export current permissions button.




Click Finish to complete the Revoke Permissions wizard.
Permissions will be revoked as specified in the wizard. The summary of all the input data would be shown below along with the "View change log" option to view the task completion status.