User Profiles

ADChangeTracker creates a user profile in Windows Stored User Names and Passwords applet, in order to store the SQL  and Directory Server user context for report generation.

The stored user profile will be useful for generating reports using ADChangeTracker under the following scenarios:

  1. Using an SQL Server having a dedicated SQL user account for report generation using ADChangeTracker (highly recommended)

  2. Using an SQL Server where SQL authentication mode is enabled

  3. Using an alternate user account to connect to the Directory Server to retrieve AD information

The stored user profile persists for all subsequent logon sessions on the same computer where ADChangeTracker is installed. The stored user profiles are visible to the application under other logon sessions on the same computer.

The stored user profile created by ADChangeTracker is restricted to the Windows User Profile context. If the Windows User Profile is maintained locally, ADChangeTracker stored user profile is accessible only by the same user in the same computer. If the user who creates ADChangeTracker stored user profile, has a Roaming user account in the enterprise, the ADChangeTracker stored user profile can be accessed by the same user in any computer in the Windows enterprise.

The stored user profile is a generic credential of Windows Stored User Names and Passwords applet and can be used by ADChangeTracker application only. The credential information is stored securely in an 256 bit encrypted format in Windows Stored User Names and Passwords applet.

The stored user profile corresponding to the SQL user account will be used by ADChangeTracker application in order to connect to the SQL Server, if SQL authentication is enabled in ADChangeTracker SQL settings.

Using the User Profiles dialog shown below (Tools -> User Profiles...), new profile can be created and available profiles can be removed from the profiles list.

 

Click New button to add a new profile and a dialog will appear as shown below:

 
 

Click Remove button in the User Profiles dialog to remove available profiles.